Find Legal Assistance Now for Personal Injury Claims
A personal injury occurs when one suffers injury, either physical or psychological, as the result of another's negligence or intentional conduct. To prove legal "negligence" in Louisiana, a plaintiff must prove that the defendant breached a duty owed, and that such a breach caused damages. The legal burden in negligence cases is a preponderance of the evidence; that is, more likely than not. This is a much less stringent burden of proof than in the criminal context, where the required proof is beyond a reasonable doubt.
The Voorhies Law Firm has handled personal injury cases throughout Louisiana in both state and federal court.
Regardless of the jurisdiction, The Voorhies Law Firm is committed and dedicated to seeing your personal injury claim through resolution. The Voorhies Law Firm knows that your personal health is invaluable, and it is committed to recovering the monetary compensation you deserve.
The Voorhies Law Firm provides progressive approaches to handling cases in the following non-exclusive personal injury practice areas:
- Automobile and Car Accidents
- Offshore Injury / Maritime Accidents
- Toxic Tort / Chemical Exposure
- Pharmaceutical and Medical Device Litigation
- Wrongful Death and Survival Action
- Medical Malpractice
- Burn Injuries
- Spinal Cord / Brain Injury
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Asbestos / Mesothelioma
- Railroad Accidents
- Drunk Driver Incidents
- 18-Wheeler Accidents
- Commercial Truck Wrecks
- Products Liability / Product Defect
The Voorhies Law Firm can handle cases all across Louisiana, including: Morgan City, Houma, New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Franklin, New Iberia, Lafayette, Youngsville, Milton, Scott, and all other cities and parishes.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) About Personal Injury Law
1. How much time do I have to file a personal injury claim in Louisiana?
This all depends on the type of personal injury claim. In most car accident personal injury cases, for example, you have one year from the date of the accident to file a claim. This is not a hard and fast rule though and there may be exceptions depending on your particular case. You should contact a personal injury lawyer right away to learn when the statute of limitations expires for your injury.
2. Can I receive compensation for my auto accident injury without having automobile insurance?
In Louisiana, to recover damages stemming from an auto accident you must have the state mandated minimum amount of auto insurance coverage. You can still recover for your injuries even if you do not have the minimum amount of coverage, though. If your injury is more than $15,000, you may be able to recover your damages without having auto insurance. Thus, you cannot recover damages for the first $15,000 of your injury without insurance.
3. Should I have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage?
Yes! Many times, personal injury cases involve automobile accidents where the negligent driver was uninsured. Typically, the only option for the injured person is to take the driver to civil court; yet recovering damages in civil court is different than criminal court. The standards are higher for receiving compensation and you may be unsuccessful. With uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, your insurance company will basically take the place of the at-fault driver and pay you damages for any injuries related to your accident.
4. If I fall on someone else's property and suffer an injury are they liable for my damages?
Suffering an injury on another's property due to the presence of an unreasonably dangerous condition falls under premises liability or negligence law. If it can be proved that the property owner knew or should have known about the danger and had the obligation to remove it, they can be held liable for any injury you sustain. There are certain exceptions to this, however, such as if you were trespassing on their property.
We are your tRopsberyed personal injury law firm: